Skip navigation

I’ve been taking quite a long time to work on my current exercise in Learn Python the Hard Way – the assignment was to make a game in a week, and now it’s well over two weeks.

There are two perfectly good excuses and one somewhat dumb but awesome excuse.

The perfectly good excuse is that I’ve been feeling behind in my community college C++ class, so I decided to step up the amount of time I spend on it. It has paid off, as this evening I was confident enough to turn in a project a week early – there was simply nothing I could add to it (or take away, as Saint-Exupéry would say).

The second perfectly good excuse is that I am going to job interviews.

So, therefore, I am not behind on my Python project, because I am lazy.

I could be behind on it, however, because I’m trying to do too much – and that is the somewhat dumb but awesome reason: I am trying to do a lot in my life, including a lot with this program. I am not writing out the project according to Zed A. Shaw’s example – I’m designing a full-on Interactive Fiction Engine – or at least the rudiments of one. I have a full structure, that is. I don’t know if it would be portable for other OSes or helpful for other coders – but – the point is – I am making a fairly complicated game from scratch. Go me!

So while I did very little last week, I’ve been making a point of getting an hour in every day this week – beginning before dawn. Tomorrow I have a little extra time in the morning, so I will be doubling that.

So this game consists of two big chunks to design: the game engine (how it all works) and the game flow (how the story / objects / actions all fit together). I’ve designed it so they’re pretty distinct components, and I am almost finished with the engine (I can feel it!). So hopefully next week I will just be working on game flow and a few extra tweaks to make the game the beautiful thing I would like it to be (with such amazing features as an ascii art skull for the death screen).

I will probably have a little bit to say once the project is done, but, for the most part, this process is not opening up any existential quandaries in my mind: it’s coming together nicely, if a bit slowly for the reasons above.

Coding is fun.

Leave a Reply

