Skip navigation

It’s ready: the first draft of Kleptos.

After trying to wrangle github for a while and failing, I decided to just host it at mediafire. The link is here.

You will need Python 2.7+ in order to run it. If you are using a terminal, open the terminal in the unzipped folder and run the main file, kleptos.py. If you are using IDLE or something similar, just make sure that it can find the kleptos.py file – kleptos.py knows where to find everyone else.

I have not tested it on anything but Linux – though it should work on Windows. Please comment if you’re having a problem.

So assuming it works for you, tell me what you think. If you are a code reader, let me know – though keep in mind that this is my rough draft, and I’ll be reading and editing (and adding better comments) over the course of this next week. Suggestions will be welcome.

Even if I accomplish nothing more, it feels great to be able to move forward. It will be good to get back on track with my curriculum, though working on this project has been educational like cramming keywords into my brain could never be. Coding is art as much as science, and practice is worth its weight in gold. Enjoy, everyone!

8 Comments

  1. Hey Joe,
    It’s exciting to see what you’ve made! But it appears I’ve hit a hitch.
    I’m running on Windows 7. I’m in powershell, which is like souped-up command line. I run kleptos.py but I get an error which says “no module named pygame”.
    Is this my fault? lol! Help me out, man, I wanna play this game.

  2. Ah, this is helpful. Pygame is a library you will have to download from http://www.pygame.org. My version of python came with it installed already, but I guess others don’t! Good to know! There should be installation instructions on the website.

  3. Alright, I installed pygame and got the game running! It’s pretty cool. I got stuck in the store room for a while: maybe it would have helped if I’d known “andronitis” was a room, lol.

    [later…]

    Oops, caught a bug! This happened twice when I attempted to cut the rope on the small door in the andron.
    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File “*\Desktop\kleptos\kleptos.py”, line 8, in
    Runner = Runner()
    File “./files/runner.py”, line 70, in __init__
    playOn = self.__getCommand()
    File “./files/runner.py”, line 119, in __getCommand
    self.choiceGroups[choiceGroup][action](value)
    KeyError: ‘TherdeactivateObject’

    Looks like just a typo in a procedure.

    • Hey, we can move this over to your >>> if you want. Should be more “communal” there πŸ™‚

      • Sorry I’ve been away for the past day. Yes! It’s a typo. And, as a matter of fact, it would be easy for you to fix it yourself for your copy.

        1. Go into the folder called “lib”
        2. Go into the folder called “events”
        3. Open the text document called “Andron”
        4. Scroll down to the paragraph whose first line is “cut rope”
        5. find where it says “TherdeactivateObject”, put the cursor before the first “r” and simply hit delete until you get to the end of the line, so that “deactivateObject08#” is the first block of text on that line
        6. Save and restart – it should work!

        So sorry about that typo – my computer is actually set up in such a way that I’ve been making a lot of these typos lately – I am now motivated to end them for good!

  4. Alright got it to work πŸ™‚
    I got stuck in the gynaeconitis tho >_<''

    Restarting the game = everything is broken lol. I start out with my previous inventory… except it's all in the storeroom and I can't "get" it. Oh well, I'll just re-open the game file.

  5. Gah! I’m in the bathroom but can’t enter the drain πŸ˜₯ . I can’t do anything to the grate, either….

    • Re: the bathroom. … want a hint?

      Could you tell me more about the restart problem – maybe tell me at what point of the game you’re at when you restart? I’m assuming that’s after you get the skull screen, right? I’ve been testing it with a few examples, and it seems to reset properly for me.

      Anyway, awesome help, Anthony. This is all great.


Leave a Reply

